Boy Scout Advancement

Boy Scouting provides a series of surmountable obstacles and steps to overcome them through the advancement method. The Boy Scout plans his advancement and progresses at his own pace as he meets each challenge. The Boy Scout is rewarded for each achievement, which helps him gain self-confidence. The steps in the advancement system help a Boy Scout grow in self-reliance and in the ability to help others


The centennial edition of the Boy Scout Handbook is available. With the new handbook come several rank requirement changes effective January 1, 2010.


A Scout must teach another person how to tie a square knot using the EDGE model (explain, demonstrate, guide, and enable). He must also be able to discuss four specific examples of how he lived the points of the Scout Law in his daily life.

Second Class

A Scout must discuss the principles of Leave No Trace and explain the factors to consider when choosing a patrol site and where to pitch a tent.

He must explain what respect is due the flag of the

United States.

He must again discuss four examples of how he lived four different points of the Scout Law in his daily life.

He must earn an amount of money agreed upon by the Scout and his parents and save at least 50 percent of it.

First Class

An additional requirement to the 10 separate troop/patrol activities states he must demonstrate the principles of Leave No Trace on these outings.

He must discuss four more examples of how he lived the remaining four points of the Scout Law in his daily life.

Life Scout

A Scout must use the EDGE model to teach a younger Scout a specified skill.

Star, Life, and Eagle

Troop Webmaster and Leave No Trace trainer are two new leadership positions. Visit the “forms database” section in the “for leaders” section for Eagle Scout application and guidelines.